top of page

PROVENANCE RESEARCH
FROM BERLIN

Schulbibliothek
Start: Willkommen

 More than just the origin of art works...

I am an art historian and provenance researcher, specialising in cultural objects disappropriated during Germany’s Nazi and GDR/Soviet-occupation eras. Based in Berlin, as art expert, I provide expert provenance research services to museums, galleries and private art  collection all over the world. 

Investigating history - that is my task! With the help of provenance research, works of art can not only be historically contextualised, but also the circumstances of acquisition and legal titles on the international art trade/market can be clarified. Provenance research also makes it possible to minimise risks when buying, selling and/or lending. Furthermore, it also offers the possibility of increasing the investment value when selling your works of art. Appropriate insurance enables collectors and lovers of cultural property to better protect their works of art. 

My network of provenance researchers and experts

The research projects I work on are supported by my network of experts or scholars. In order to be able to process your orders in the best possible way, I also see myself as an interface between my clients and the experts for special or specific concerns. 
I deliver results with the utmost attention to detail and a range of guidance options to best suit your needs.

Advice on communicating research results 

I am happy to offer you my expertise as a press officer for international cultural organisations and many years of experience in dealing with members of the press.  Of course, if you wish, I can prepare the scientific research results for external communication and provide you with advice.

Stillleben mit einer Gitarre

Provenance Research Services

  • Scholarly analysis of the provenance and whereabouts of artworks and cultural assets disappropriated as part of Nazi prosecution and state control

  • Scholarly analysis of the provenance and whereabouts of artworks and cultural assets disappropriated as part of GD/ Soviet occupation era

  • Expert examination of new acquisitions and existing collections

  • Briefings of historical and art historical background 

  • In-depth archival and database research

  • Liaison with research institutions, academics and experts of art history

  • Compilation of provenance dossiers

- Each provenance report contains the following information:

-Comprehensive ownership, literary and exhibition histories.

-Primary documents relating to the history of the artwork

-Art market research and analysis

-A concluding recommendation

  • Sensitivity consultancy for problematic and controversial artworks

  • Presentation of findings for external communication

Start: Publikationen
Start: Unser Team

ABOUT ME

Lebenslauf%20Janine%20Kersten_edited.jpg

Numerous experiences as a provenance researcher for museums and other public institutions as well as private individuals have shaped my path so far in this extremely exciting and important field of research for me.

Art history and provenance research academic formation

I hold a Master of Art History (Provenance Research) from Freie Universität Berlin and a Diploma in Business Administration from the University of Applied Sciences Osnabrück.
Following submission of my Master’s thesis on the GDR art trade, I have provided provenance analysis services to public institutions, corporate collections and private individuals. 

 

Provenance research on Nazi looted art & SBZ/DDR confiscation contexts

My expertise lies in the provenance of artworks and cultural assets (from vintage cars to handicrafts) that were seized or looted, in particular during the eras of Nazi rule (1933-1945) and GDR/Soviet occupation (1949-1990).
A varied professional and academic path has led me to this exciting and important field of research.

Networking with colleagues and exchanging information about the latest developments and progress is very important to me and an essential part of successful research. I am therefore an active member of the Arbeitskreis Provenienzforschung e.V. - a working group of over 300 scholars from Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Great Britain, the Netherlands and the United States of America. I am also a member of the Association of German Art Historians

International communication skills

My academic expertise is complemented by more than a decade in arts management and communication. As a Senior Project Manager I produced conferences for senior arts professionals in major cities around the world, and as a Press Officer I managed international campaigns for Tate Modern and the Venice Biennale, to name a few.
I speak fluent German, English and French.

 

Start: Kontakt
Image by Mr Cup / Fabien Barral

CONTACT

 

Janine Kersten

Hobrechtstr. 31

12047 Berlin

Tel. +49 176 240 829 60

info@provenanceresearch-berlin.com

bottom of page

PROVENIENZFORSCHUNG
AUS BERLIN

Schulbibliothek
 

Mehr als nur die Herkunft von Werken…

Als selbstständige Kunsthistorikerin / Provenienzforscherin habe ich meinen Sitz in Berlin und biete Museen, Galerien, Unternehmen, aber auch Privatpersonen wissenschaftliche Provenienzrecherchen zu NS-Raubkunst und SBZ/DDR Entziehungskontexten an..

Geschichte zu rekonstruieren – das ist meine Aufgabe! Mit Hilfe der Provenienzforschung können Kunstwerke nicht nur historisch kontextualisiert, sondern auch die Erwebsumstände und Rechtstitel auf dem internationalen Kunsthandel/-markt können geklärt werden. Mit Provenienzforschung ist es zudem zusätzlich möglich, Risiken beim Kauf , Verkauf und /oder Verleih zu minimieren. Darüber hinaus bietet sie auch  die Möglichkeit, den Investitionswert  beim Verkauf Ihrer Kunstwerke zu erhöhen. Durch entsprechende Versicherungen wird es Sammlern und Kulturgutliebhabern ermöglicht,  ihre Kunstwerke besser abzusichern.

Sowohl meine umfangreichen Kenntnisse in verschiedenen Forschungsverfahren, Richtlinien und Ressourcen als auch mein profundes Wissen zu historischen Hintergründen  erlauben mir, Ihren Auftrag effizient, gewissenhaft und diskret durchzuführen. 

Mein Netzwerk von Provenienzforschern und Experten

Unterstützt werden die von mir bearbeiteten Rechercheprojekte durch mein Netzwerk von Experten oder Wissenschaftlern. Um Ihre Aufträge bestmöglich bearbeiten zu können, verstehe ich mich auch als Schnittstelle zwischen meinen Auftraggebern und den Experten für spezielle oder spezifische Anliegen. 

Beratung bei der Kommunikation von Forschungsergebnissen 

Ich stelle Ihnen gerne meine Expertise als Pressereferentin für internationale Kulturorganisationen und langjährige Erfahrung im Umgang mit Pressevertretern zur Verfügung.  Selbstverständlich bereite ich auf Wunsch die wissenschaftlichen Forschungsergebnisse für die externe Kommunikation entsprechend auf und stehe Ihnen hierfür beratend zur Seite.

Stillleben mit einer Gitarre

Meine Leistung 

  • Wissenschaftliche Provenienzrecherchen zum Verbleib NS-verfolgungsbedingt entzogener Kunst- und Kulturgütern, sowie Automobile 

  • Recherchen zu Provenienzen aus SBZ/DDR Entziehungskontexten

  • Prüfung von Neuerwerbungen und gesamten Sammlungsbeständen

  • Erforschung historischer und kunsthistorischer Hintergründe

  • Recherchen in Archiven, Bibliotheken und einschlägigen Datenbanken

  • Kontakt zu Forschungsinstitutionen, Wissenschaftlern und Experten

  • Verfassen von wissenschaftlichen Provenienzdossiers
    Jeder Bericht enthält die folgenden Informationen:
    - Umfangreiche Besitz-, Literatur- und Ausstellungsgeschichten
    - Primärdokumente, die sich auf die Geschichte des Kunstwerks beziehen
    - Kunstmarktforschung und -analyse
    - Eine abschließende Empfehlung

     

  • Beratung im Umgang mit problematischen Werken

  • Aufbereitung von Forschungsergebnissen für die externe Kommunikation
     

 
 

ÜBER MICH

Lebenslauf%20Janine%20Kersten_edited.jpg

Zahlreiche Erfahrungen als Provenienzforscherin für Museen und andere öffentliche Einrichtungen sowie Privatpersonen prägen meinen bisherigen Weg, auf diesem für mich äußerst spannenden und wichtigen Forschungsgebiet.

Kunstgeschichte und Spezialisierung Provenienzforschung


Ich habe einen Masterabschluss im Fach Kunstgeschichte mit der Spezialisierung Provenienzforschung von der Freien Universität Berlin, sowie ein BWL-Diplom von der FH Osnabrück. Für meine Masterarbeit habe ich zum Staatlichen Kunsthandel in der DDR geforscht.

Provenienzrecherche zur NS-Raubkunst & SBZ/DDR Entziehungskontexten


Meine wissenschaftliche Expertise konzentriert sich auf die Provenienzrecherche von Kunstwerken und Kulturgütern, darunter auch Oldtimer-Automobilen, die in der NS-Zeit zwischen 1933-1945 ihren Besitzern entzogen oder geraubt wurden, sowie zu Provenienzen aus SBZ/DDR Entziehungskontexten.  

Die Vernetzung mit Kollegen und der Austausch über die neuesten Entwicklungen und Fortschritte ist mir sehr wichtig und essenzieller Bestandteil erfolgreicher Forschungen. Ich bin daher aktives Mitglied im Arbeitskreis Provenienzforschung e.V. - ein Arbeitskreis von über 300 Wissenschaftler*innen aus Deutschland, Österreich, Schweiz, Großbritannien, Niederlande und den Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika. Darüber hinaus bin ich auch Mitglied im Verband Deutscher Kunsthistoriker.

Internationale Kommunikation Erfahrungen Referenzen


Meine wissenschaftliche Tätigkeit wird durch meine langjährige Erfahrung als Pressereferentin für internationale Museen und Kunstveranstaltungen wie die Tate Modern oder die Biennale in Venedig ergänzt, für die ich internationale Kampagnen leitete. Ich bin außerdem als Senior-Projektmanagerin tätig und organisiere internationale Kulturkongresse.

Ich spreche fließend Deutsch, Englisch und Französisch.

 
Image by Mr Cup / Fabien Barral

KONTAKT

 

Janine Kersten

Hobrechtstr. 31

12047 Berlin

Tel. +49 176 240 829 60

info@provenanceresearch-berlin.com